Understanding Roles in Vuture
What is a Role?
Why does Vuture use Roles?
What does a typical setup for Roles look like?
Brief overview of typical Roles
As the Super Admin for a firm, can I reset Roles?
What is a Role?
A Role is a collection of permissions that defines which of the many Vuture features a user may see and use. When a new user is created they are assigned a Role for every container which allows them to access different parts of the Vuture platform and use various features.
Why does Vuture use Roles?
Vuture creates Roles to help clients give their users just enough access to use the platform fully, without confusing them with unnecessary features. Because Roles can be set up differently by each firm, Vuture clients can work with their Project Manager (and subsequently their Customer Success Manager) to vary the setup to suit their needs. This gives the system infinite flexibility.
What does a typical setup for Roles look like?
During the project implementation phase of your life cycle with Vuture, you will discuss with your Project Manager such questions as how many users you expect to have, how skilled they are likely to be and how much access you would like them to have. Your Project Manager will set up the Roles for you in a standard set as a starting point, based on our many years of experience with our customers. Some of your team members will have the opportunity to change the Roles later, if you wish. A typical setup of Roles could look like this:

Brief Overview of Typical Roles
-
The Vuture Admin role is only available to Vuture staff. Logged in to Vuture as a Super Admin you will not even see the Role of Vuture Admin in the drop down menu.
-
The Super Admin Role is generally reserved for a select group of users responsible for managing key tasks such as creating and updating master templates and sub-templates, as well as global forms. They also oversee setting up the infrastructure for containers and permissions i.e. what other users have access to. Super Admins play a crucial role in defining what every-day users can access and accomplish within the system.
-
Admin users are typically the every-day users who create new campaigns and send out emails.
-
Other Roles such as Editor, Publisher, Approver Only or Read Only are optional. Some firms choose to create these and use them for occasional users who should have limited access or perhaps senior stakeholders who will never create a campaign, only approve it before it goes out, for example.
-
Note that you can create unlimited new Roles or rename existing Roles. We would strongly recommend however that you:
-
1. Start with the standard set of Roles, as created for you by your Project Manager - until you start using the platform fully and really understand it and the capabilities on offer, and
-
2. Stick with the name Super Admin for your Super Admin Role. This is because it will make life much less confusing for everybody if you need the Support Team to assist you in the future.
As the Super Admin for a firm, can I reset Roles?
To change the permissions inside any Role, and therefore what a user can do in the platform, you will need the assistance of Support or your CSM. Discuss your query with them. Examples might be to allow users to see the html of a campaign, or allow users to change the colours of different elements on the page with the colour picker tool.
Typically, at least to start with, users will have the same Role assigned to them for every container you create. You can, however, change the Role that a user may have for a specific Container. For example, user John Smith could be an Admin user in the Banking Newsletters container, but you could assign him a Read Only or an Approver Only role in a different container if required.
To do this, navigate to the Admin menu via Home>Admin>Containers & Users

Only Super Admin users will have this access to the Containers & Users area.
Once in the Containers & Users area click on the root container in the folder list on the left:

This will bring up a list of all users in your platform. Including the Vuture staff, (who must have access in order to support you).
Navigate to the user’s name, either by scrolling down or by searching. Select Edit User next to their name.
Scrolling down to the Container Access area, you can see that, in this example, the Penny Sargent user is a Vuture Admin in every container.

You could choose a different Role for some or all of these containers if required, by selecting them from the drop down list..
Important: If you make any changes to the user you will need to click Save User - either at the very bottom of the page or at the very top, before navigating back to Home..
