Overview - Updated for January 2020 release
*** If you do not see "Check List", please contact your Account Manager or Vuture Support.
This article will walk you through how to use the "Check list" feature to confirm the data on your list is clean before sending. From an email deliverability perspective, it is highly encouraged to only send to contacts that have engaged with your mailings in the last 12 months. This number is configurable. Discuss with your Account Manager if you wish to change the default.
Jump to the FAQ on this feature
Please follow the instructions below for each list you wish to send mailings to:
Instructions:
- Navigate to the email campaign you are planning to send.
- Click on “send email” to get to the “send email screen”.
- Select the mailing list you wish to send to.
- Scroll all the way to the bottom, until you see the link that says “Check List”.
- Click on “Check List”
- This used to download a CSV file. From January 2020 it now links directly to a view of the Email Engagement Whitelist which will show you the following information for each contact on the mailing list:
-
Engaged: Contact has engaged with your mailings in the last 12 months. They can stay on your list.
-
Contact not engaged: This contact has not engaged with any of your mailings in the last 12 months and must be removed from the list and added to a Suppression folder.
-
Domain not engaged: No contact from this domain has engaged with any of your mailings in the last 12 months. All contacts from this domain must be removed for your lists and added to a Suppression folder.
-
Blank: Contact does not have an email address and should be removed from your lists.
-
Important: You must then remove these contacts from your list and add them into a Suppression Folder (i.e. Send No Marketing, your global unsubscribe list).
- For InterAction clients, if you wish to create a new Suppression Folder to later go through / keep a record of this, please provide your Account Manager with the Folder ID and they will suppress this folder on the back end of Vuture.
-
This must be done for each list you wish to send to. It is also best practice to start adding this into your current process and/or to put in a sun-setting strategy in place moving forward.
FAQ
1. What exactly is an "engaged" contact?
An engaged contact is someone who has opened or clicked on a link in an email. This is true for Vx Standalone and for all CRMs with Vuture.
For more information on how email opens and links clicked are tracked in Vuture, please click here.
2. What is the 12 month check based on?
The 12 month check is 12 months from the time you run "Check List".
For example, if today is October 16th, 2019 and I click on "Check List" it will show engagement for contacts that were sent emails, 12 months from October 16th, 2019. If I then click on "Check List" on October 17th, 2019, the data returned will be 12 months from October 17th, 2019.
3. What happens if it's the first time emailing a specific contact? Will they be marked as "contact not engaged"?
Yes, they will be marked as "contact not engaged". For the very first send following the Spamhaus blacklisting we want to try to avoid sending to contacts for the very first time. That is, unless these contacts have confirmed opt-in and can prove it.
4. Will the "Check List" feature look at the email address only? Or will it look at the name of the contact?
The "Check List" feature will only look at the email address. The name is not sufficient.